[siteorigin_widget class=”WP_Nav_Menu_Widget”][/siteorigin_widget]

At Beauchamps High School the outstanding contribution our NQTs make to our school and to the education of our students is both recognised and celebrated. Here are our most recent NQTs who have won the New Teacher of the Year award, or received Special Recognition at the Essex Teaching Awards.

Miss Leahy won the award for New Teacher of the Year in 2017 at the ceremony held at Anglia Ruskin University, which is a fantastic achievement. Mrs Leahy was also put forward as the Essex representative in the National Teaching Awards.


Since her NQT year Miss Leahy has continued to flourish as an Outstanding Teacher taking on the role of KS3 Co-ordinator in the English Department and in a whole school role as a Senior Peer Mentor. In her role as a SPM Eleanor works alongside the school’s Teaching and Learning Academy to improve standards across the school.

Business Teacher, Mr Farrugia was named Newly Qualified Teacher of the Year in 2015. Mr Farrugia was nominated by Mr Harper who said “Mr Farrugia is very well respected by his peers and is an inspiration for other staff. He achieved outstanding results in his first year of teaching with 100% Pass rate for his Year 12 AS students and Year 13 BTEC students. His Year 11 BTEC students all gained at least a Merit”. Mr Farrugia said “I am truly ecstatic and honoured to have won this award. I strongly believe in business and innovation and the chance to ignite a passion for self-success and entrepreneurism. The students that I have had the privilege to work with at Beauchamps High School have been a great inspiration to me. They have such creative ideas and a great positive energy and this is why I love this profession”.


Since his NQT year Mr Farrugia has continued to achieve great things at Beauchamps and is now an Associate Senior Leader, responsible for Student Voice and Applied Learning.

The inaugural Essex Teaching Awards celebration took place on 22 January 2014 at Anglia Ruskin University, Chelmsford. We were incredibly proud to announce that Miss Tener, R.E. Teacher, received the Special Recognition Award for Outstanding New Teacher of the Year.